Revelation blog

What you need to know about the world where you live

THE MEANING OF THE ST. BENEDICT CROSS

Here a Guide for everybody who would want to know the meaning of the St. Benedict Cross. It is considered the symbol of the fight against the Evil.
Certainly the most important element of cult is the Cross of St. Benedict, especially in its medal’s shape.
On one side it introduces, the image of the Saint Patriarch and on the other side there is a cross, around which are disposed the Latin initials, and recite the following prayer:
Crux Sancti Patris Benedicti
Cross of the Saint Father Benedict
Crux Sacra Sit Mihi Lux
Saint Cross be my light
Non Draco Sit Mihi Dux
My leader is not my Demon
Vade Retro Satana
Stand bach, Satan
Numquam Suade Mibi Vana
Don’t let myself be tempted by the vanity
Sunt Mala Quae Libas
Evil is your drink
Ipse Venena Bibas
Drink yourself the poison
The initials which are distribuited in the Cross, enclose an invocation to the Saint Cross in order to be a guide and support against the temptations of Satan, to whom it is ordered to go away, with the words of Jesus when he was tempted too. Therefore the medal represents a huge profession of faith and love for Christ and a repugnance for the Demon, too.
In the life of St. Benedict, the sign of the Cross represents the salvation and the protection against Evil, that incessantly attacked him as adversary of the good practise.
The Cross of St. Benedict has ancient origins, even it certainly they cannot be attribuited to the Saint.
Its diffusion dates back to 1647 when in Bavier, some women were tried for witchcraft. During the trial they declared to have been unable to damage the Benedictine abbey of Mitten, because it was protected by the sign of the Saint Cross. In the monastery were found paintings representing the Cross, with the same inscription of the initials that nowadays are in the medal. However, the initials were interpreted only later when a XIV manuscript was found in the library of the monastery of Mitten (1414) where an image of Saint Benedict with those words, was noticed. The medal receives the blessing from the monks priests of the Order of St. Benedict with a particular formula and according to the text written on medal is accompanied, they ask God, with the aid of His Mercy, to expel the power of the Devil in order to be immaculated and cleaned in front of Him.
The medal and the Cross of Saint Benedict can be worn in any way or it can be hung on the house walls. It is used also for particular aims as illness, applying the medal on the sick part of the body. The tradition invites to recite 5 Gloria to the Father to the Passion of Jesus, 3 Hail Mary to the Blessed Virgin Maria and 1 Father Ours to St. Benedict and advises ourselves to recite these prayers every day to enter better in the spirituality.
St. Benedict is the Patron of Europe and the festivity is celebrated on 21 th March, day of his death.
Original text from: reviews.ebay.ie/THE-MEANING-OF-THE-ST-BENEDICT-CROSS_W0QQugidZ10000000003243611

April 24, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

17 Comments »

  1. Good morning,
    I have just bought a Crucifix and was very pleasantly surprised to read into the meaning of the cross.
    My son (Alain)has been troubled by a demon and receintly I have experienced this demon in my home. I never thought I would even be thinking or writing about this kind of thing ever, but have been proven wrong! Please help me to help my son? He explains that when it comes he cannot even pray as it hold him back. I’ve told him to call the name Jesus as I know the devil trembles at the name of Jesus. Is there any other advise you can give me??

    Comment by Michelle Williams | August 30, 2011 | Reply

    • holy mass is the best way to get rid of such evil spirit. Recitation of apostoles creed is also help us to remove such things

      Comment by chacko | January 6, 2012 | Reply

    • go to mass and live life so well in the way of holiness

      experience that has a meaning maybe he has a calling and he is in the middle of a great challenge

      Comment by paulmark | January 10, 2012 | Reply

    • Pray using Word of God..
      Repeat these verses again and again..

      Rom 8:1
      Rom 16:20
      Mat 4:10
      Mark 1:25

      Comment by Gladly Jacob | December 6, 2012 | Reply

  2. Al adquirir la medalla de San Benito se me informó que no le atribuyera la ayuda a la medalla en si, curiosamente sí fue la medalla físicamente la medalla lo que me ayudó ya que antes de salir de casa, por entretenerme desenredando la medalla atorada en mi camisa, el apagón ocurrió estando yo en casa y no en el elevador del edificio pues ya iba yo de salida y no habría dado tiempo que bajara el elevador conmigo dentro, afortunadamente me detuve a desenredarla y quedé fuera del elevador que tardó más de 1 hora en funcionar.

    curiosamente si fué pues la “medalla” atorada en el cuello de la camisa lo que me ayudó a quedar fuera del elevador.
    Saludos
    Ponchito de Mex.

    Comment by Alfonso | October 16, 2011 | Reply

  3. i have suffered severely with an addiction for many years. Tonight I met with a Sister of the Preciose Blood order. She gave me her Cross. I am very moved by her jester and pray that it will keep the demons of my addiction away,

    Comment by Dan | November 9, 2011 | Reply

  4. michelle williams dear i can tell that you have to take your son to an exorcist and be strong the holy rosary and the holy mass is the most holy thig that can help you and help your son dont go to a doctor or a shrink go a traditional church that have a traditional exorcists that’s my advice as a consacrated person

    Comment by abanob orfaly | February 2, 2012 | Reply

  5. Thank-You for this info. about this!

    Comment by Allan William Alexander Boyd | April 4, 2012 | Reply

  6. Wear a blessed St. Benedict Cross.
    Have Holy Water nearby and bless every room in your home.
    Have your blessed Rosary nearby, pray the Rosary daily.
    Pray the Divine Mercy prayer daily, preferably at 3PM.
    Display prominently the Sacred Heart of Jesus and the Immaculate Heart of Mary in your home and consecrate yourselves and your family to the Two Hearts.
    Wear sacramentals on your person, especially the St. Benedict Cross.
    Wear a brown scapular.
    Pray a Litany to St. Michael.
    Pray a Litany to Our Lord Jesus Christ.
    Pray a Litany to Our Blessed Virgin Mary.
    Pray a Litany to St. Joseph.
    Love of Jesus through Mary,
    Edwin De Castro
    Speonk, New York
    United States of America

    Comment by Edwin De Castro | April 5, 2012 | Reply

  7. Daily Prayer to St. Michael,
    the Archangel.

    St. Michael the Archangel,

    Defend us in this day of battle,
    Be our protection against the wickedness and snares of the devil.
    May God rebuke him, we humbly pray,
    And do Thou, O Prince of the Heavenly Host,
    By the Divine Power of God,
    Cast into hell satan and all the other evil spirits,
    Who prowl throughout the world seeking the ruin of souls.

    Amen.

    Comment by Edwin De Castro | December 7, 2012 | Reply

  8. I believe I am being attacked by demonic presence of my ancestors sins attachment. I am an adult but as a child sexually and physically abused by my father god father two uncles a man I don’t know and my older sister. I did a genogram and realized their is alcoholism and domestic violence. I am sick to my stomach. But I was praying the divine mercy and I had a very bad repressed memory resurface. I need to get my st Benedict crucifix blessed. Are there other things bedsides blessed sacramentals and holy water. I have not been sleeping until morning when my husband is up,and not eating. I feel to confess the sins of my family in confession and do penance but I don’t know if I can and at the same time I am angry and sick.

    Comment by Teresa | January 18, 2013 | Reply

    • Hi Teresa
      Thanks for your comment, it takes a lot of courage to write those things and you showed to be strong.
      Listen carefully everyone is attacked by demonic presence (me included), the fact that you went trough these horrible things obviously is not your fault,
      but evil spirits are using it to drive you crazy.
      The fact that you feel to confess the sins of your family in confession is because of the mercy of God, as some of these people could still be saved but they
      need your forgiveness first, so my advice is to go ahead and confess all the sins that come into your mind to a catholic priest, there is nothing to be scared of
      indeed if you keep them inside of you, you will just do what satan wants.
      I`ll pray for you, you can contact me privately any time you want.
      May God give you more strength and love during this time. Vito

      Comment by Vito Petrus | January 18, 2013 | Reply

      • This is indeed a tough dificult time in which at times I feel like I am loosing my mind. I am going to counseling and just staying close to the sacraments. But ya It is driving me crazy however I drew it out on paper and was able to counter-effect of this craziness by drawing marvels and good experiences with God in my life. It actually helped me to be more focused towards understanding and forgiveness although the whole thing makes me sick. thanks for your suport and prayers

        Comment by teresa | January 19, 2013

  9. Even with the st Benedict cross I am still going through alot and I am so tired and exhausted to the point sometimes of despair. I am however praying more, going to daily mass and adoration when I can and to confession once a week joined an adult formation group and a women’s prayer group. Yet the temptations are getting stronger. I have avoided tv because of triggers that lead to PTSD and the temptations and/or behaviors that follows. I am not sure as to what more to do. I feel this will never end.

    Comment by Teresa | February 8, 2013 | Reply

    • Hello again Teresa, I`m sorry to hear that the situation is not getting any better, in this case we need more people getting involved in our prayers, this worked for me when I asked for a special intention and after few days it was granted. In this link: http://ocarm.org/en/content/prayer-request
      you will be able to send a prayer request to the order of the Carmelites (the one that I`m in) and as is written there: Your prayers will be remembered in their daily mass at the General Curia, Rome, in the Shrines of Our Lady of Mt. Carmel, in the Carmelite monasteries and in many other Carmelite parishes around the world.
      May God bless you Teresa and do not give it up. V.

      Comment by Vito Petrus | February 10, 2013 | Reply

  10. Thank you I did leave a prayer request.

    Comment by Teresa | February 10, 2013 | Reply

    • I am going once more bring it up to my confessor and to my spiritual director. Last confession I was told to not give up. So now I am realizing to just sit in the eye of the storm and trust it will be over soon. I am concerned however while I am going through this am I sinning then it had to be stopped. My will has weaken and I ask for prayers. I was not able to go to confession this week because of the bad storm but I will not neglect this one bit. I am afraid of judgement and that I may have to be hospitalized. I hope and pray it won’t come to that. The fear is there. I always ask for prayers. Thank you for the spiritual support and insight.

      Teresa

      Comment by Teresa | February 11, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

